ITEA 4 is the Eureka Cluster on software innovation
ITEA 4 is the Eureka Cluster on software innovation

Université de Mons

The creation of the University of Mons (UMONS), founded on account of the merging of the University of Mons-Hainaut (UMH) and the Faculty of Engineering of Mons (FPMs), consolidates the Mons Higher Education Consortium.

As of 2009-2010, UMONS took seat in the new academic landscape of the French Community of Belgium. The two institutions, UMH and FPMs, which were both founded on the standards of high quality research and education, chose to join forces. 


The amalgamation of their potential will allow:

  • further development of higher education, offered in Mons and Charleroi
  • increased cross-disciplinary education and training within certain degree programmes
  • reinforcement of current  research centres and corresponding specialised training programmes
  • a heightened presence on an international level
  • greater participation in the cultural and economic development of the area
  • reinforcement of collaborations within an integrated consortium that gathers partners of public higher education in Hainaut around the University of Mons.
Alt Belgium


ITEA 2 Call 5


Many-core programming and resource management for high-performance Embedded Systems

ITEA 2 Call 3
Winner Achievement Awards Silver 2012
project header

DiY Smart Experiences

Do-it-Yourself Smart Experiences

ITEA 1 Call 7


Open platform as a global approach to security provision of places, locations and events